the shorter discourse on the lion's roar

Cūḷasīhanāda Sutta

Majjhima Nikāya 11 of 152

Translated by: Bhikkhu Sujato
Read by: Roland Kitchen


The Buddha declares that only those following his path can genuinely experience the four stages of awakening. This is because, while much is shared with other systems, none of them go so far as to fully reject all attachment to the idea of a self.